Skip to content ↓

Early Years at Millbrook Primary School

The early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old.

All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

Areas of learning

Your child will mostly be taught through games and play.

The areas of learning are:

  • communication and language
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • physical development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design


Intent for Early Years

Early Years at Millbrook School incorporates the teaching and providing opportunities what happens but also why it happens.

We believe that every child is unique, centring your child’s interests at the heart of our teaching. We develop your child’s learning and thinking skills through the purposeful play and adult led activities, with the aim to provide a foundation for your child build upon and become a confident independent learner throughout their educational journey.

We have a maximum intake of 30 children in Early Years. 

The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework sets standards to enable the Early Years like us, to provide a rich and personalised experience to the children.

In Millbrook Primary School, we teach the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework through the support of:

Three prime areas

  • Communication & Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Four specific areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive Arts and Design

We also ensure that a holistic character for learning is developed and nurtured.